Daily Archives: May 27, 2011

Kristine Kidd’s Weeknight Fresh & Fast

Of all the things that have changed me about motherhood, I am pretty sure that cooking has to be one of the things that has really evolved. Before having a child, I would spend hours looking up difficult recipes and proving to myself that everything could be made from scratch.

Now as a working mother, all I can think about is getting healthy food on the table, fast.

I know there are many moms that can spend their days focusing on what they make for dinner but career life has taught me to comperamentalize and use my work time only for work so that my family time can be dedicated to my family. In result, I don’t do anything but work during the day, thinking that every hour of work is an hour of childcare which is quite a lot of money. Some may find it sad that I don’t spend much of my work time running out to lunch with friends, but I am content, being all immersed in what I do and managing to get things done. This is the only way I can do it as a parent. I have tried all different ways: taking lunch breaks, quick coffee with friends, laundry in the middle of the day, making cookies before work but at the end of the day, you have to do what is good for you and my focus whether I am working from home (or not) is to do just work (most of the time) and of course run upstairs for lunch.

And for busy days come cookbooks like “Weeknight, Fresh + Fast” by Kristine Kidd. Kristine Kidd was the food editor of Bon App├ętit for more than 20 years and has authored many other cookbooks, she also recently published another book with Williams Sonoma called “Cooking at Home”. Read about my event and the book here

This cookbook came into my kitchen at the best time for me, I had just finished planning a huge event, was in the process of writing a book and we just moved into a new house.
At this time, my days were spent eating at restaurants for my book (yes that is work too) and I craved the dinners with my family that I lacked during that time.

The recipes in this book are easy and many times require ingredients that you have at home. I find that to be the best part, I really don’t like having to spend lots of time shopping for a recipe. That is more time that I could be tickling my two year old or answering the famous question in my house “why?” The reason that it took me so long to write this post also has to do with the fact that this book has been sitting on my counter as the go-to book for the last few months. I haven’t had a chance to take it to my office. I love recipes like the Black Bean Tacos with Avocado Salsa, Breaded Chicken with Lemon-green Onion Tahini and Poached Eggs with White Bean-Tomato Ragout. At this point in my life, I know what I want in a cookbook; I want it to be easy, have beautiful photos so I am motivated to cook, use the ingredients that I have at home and have flavorful ingredient combinations. This is the whole package. I love this book.

To tune into Kristine’s blog, click here

2 Comments

Filed under Cookbooks and Books