Suncadia with the Kids, a Vacation Near Seattle

It started with a phone call.

My friend: “So you are going on a relaxing getaway”. I answered with a “yea” and just left it at that. In my head, I was really thinking. Relaxing? Are you kidding? With infant twins and a 4-year-old? My friend laughed as if she could read my mind.

This trip really surprised me. It was somewhat relaxing, not sunbathing topless near the pool relaxing (not that I would know), not hmmmm I love being bored relaxing but really pretty amazing.
Warning: the word relaxing has been used way too many times in this post but it is really because I want to remind myself to relax and not worry about finding other words to describe this nice tingly feeling.

Suncadia, located just 90 minutes East of Seattle is a year -round mountain resort with lots of recreational activities: golf, kayaking, biking and during the winter, skiing and other winter sports.

Here is the bedroom.

The bedroom overlooks a little garden with a hot tub.
This is the most amazing detail of this trip, especially because we could put the kids to bed and then relax in the tub.

The trick was that they have happy hour every day from 9 pm at the Portals restaurant. One of us would go down and get some wine by the glass, (5 dollars a glass) and the other would put the kids to bed. I highly recommend this to twin parents who never get a break, or parents of any age or just anybody who needs a break.

The kitchen and living room are fully equipped with a washer and dryer, full kitchen including a blender, dishes, toaster, dishwasher and everything that you need to assemble dinner (except the food). We cooked and made our own dinners for some of the time. Note for next time, we should have gone shopping before we came because going to the grocery store seemed like a daunting task when you have a beautiful resort that you never want to leave!

We dined at the Portals restaurant.

The panoramic view from the restaurant is breathtaking. The restaurant was kid-friendly but still classy. This is not easy to pull off for a restaurant, it was almost as if all the kids that came in were on their best behavior. I think it was more the fact that the restaurant is roomy enough that you don’t really feel all the children in the room. I expected the restaurant to be really expensive as it is many times at these types of resorts. The prices were surprisingly reasonable, entrees at $12-15 dollars. I made a remark about the prices and they explained that this lower priced menu has only been around for about two months (the menu on the website is still the older one). The food was executed very well and we tried a myriad of items with Northwest ingredients.


They spoiled our son with a perfect fruit salad as we discussed what to order.

Every time, the babies needed a few minutes to expend energy, I took them to the little waiting room equipped with lots of kids books right near the dining room.

The view from the dining room.

We spent our day at the pools. They have water slides for the older kids and indoor and outdoor pools.

The spa was beautiful. I had one of the best massages of my life. It was the Glade Spring Signature massage which included a Paraffin Wax treatment for my feet. I really hate people touching my feet but this was such a warm and comfortable feeling and my feet were so soft afterwards.

In the morning, we had a little visitor. He was hanging right outside of the hot tub.

If you are planning a weekend away, the 7th Annual Harvest Festival is coming up on October 5-7th and October 12-14. These family friendly weekends include live music, kids activities, pumpkin patch and tons of stuff to do. More details can be found by calling the Suncadia Resort.

If you are going to visit Suncadia, bring your bike and go on a little bike ride in the wilderness. They have many bikes for rent as well. They also have activities like kayaking and other sports. Evenings can be spent around the bonfire, making s’mores pack up those marshmallows and your fancy chocolate.

If you are looking for a special place to spend your summers or winters, Suncadia just recently sold 30 Lodge condominiums during a sales event conducted by Kennedy Wilson. During this event, more Lodge residences were sold in one day than in the last two and a half years at the resort. In addition, Suncadia recently released more than a dozen new homesites in the Rope Rider neighborhood with prices starting under $100,000. Hmm. One can dream. Right?

Do you like reading about things to do with the kids? Do you need another vacation idea? Maybe a staycation? If so, read about my staycation downtown here.

Disclosure: I occasionally receive compensations in the form of trips, dinners or cookbooks. In this case the trip was covered by the public relations company handling Suncadia. I will say without hesitation that my responsibility is to my readers and that this will not affect my view or review. This trip was truly wonderful!

6 Comments

Filed under Kids Stuff in Seattle, Things to do in Seattle

6 responses to “Suncadia with the Kids, a Vacation Near Seattle

  1. Thanks for the thorough review! Living in Seattle, I have heard of Suncadia but didn’t know much about it. Your review makes me want to add it to my list of places to visit. :)

  2. hopefulandhungry

    Love Suncadia! And love that it’s so close!

  3. That sounds awesome Keren! I saw an ad for Suncadia a couple of months ago and have been wondering about it. I love that hot tub and happy hour – I’m all over it!

  4. Marisa

    Wow – this looks so wonderful and I just love those pictures of your kids – too cute :)

  5. Great review, Keren. I am so glad you got a getaway that worked for your family!

  6. The hot-tub alone makes this place look perfect:) Sounds like a fantastic getaway!

Leave a Reply

