I was on the way home when the hunger hit. It was 3 oclock and I realized that all I ate was a protein bar. This wasn’t intentional at all. I usually eat every few hours. After a day of running around like a crazy woman, the hunger devoured me and I could eat anything in sight. I imagined what I would eat all the way home.
We just got back from our trip and there is no food in the house. I am spoiled, I usually only use fresh herbs when I cook. I searched the fridge and there was not a sprig in sight. I rummaged through the pantry. I eyeballed some canned goods that I bought a year ago before I had learned to cook. This was going to be a mish mash dinner with everything I could find. I used cream corn instead of cream to add a thickness to the sauce.

Empty your House Pasta

Ingredients:
Whole Wheat Pasta
3 cloves of garlic
1 gigantic onion
2 small cans of diced tomatoes
1 small can of creamed corn
oregano
Parmigiano Reggiano

1. Cook the pasta according to directions.
2. Saute the onions and garlic.
Add tomatoes, corn, tuna and oregano. Simmer for a few minutes.
3. When pasta is al dente, reserve some of the cooking liquid.
4. Add sauce and a bit of starchy cooking water to pasta.
5. Top with parmigiano Reggiano.

I have to say that this is not the most incredible pasta that I have ever had but it was just perfect for a day when I don’t have time to cook but would like to enjoy
some nice healthy comfort food.
Note: The pasta in the picture is before I added the cheese

UPDATE: My fiance got home and tried the pasta, he loved it!

Written by franticfoodie

I am Keren Brown (note: Keren with 2 E's). I love living in Seattle, I think the weather here is fabulous and spend my days writing, organizing and planning food events. Read about Seattle food events, recipes or just immerse in the food obsession. Check out my other blog in the Seattle PI http://blog.seattlepi.nwsource.com/franticfoodie/

Leave a Reply

