I get a lot of cookbooks. I won’t lie. I am not going to apologize either. I spend hours and hours of my precious time writing about things I like on my blog. I am honest. There are cookbooks that I will never write about. There are cookbooks that are gathering dust, there are cookbooks that I will never open again. I will not waste my time writing about a cookbook that I don’t like.

I do want to write about some cookbooks that I really like.
by Sasa Mahr-Batuz and Andy Goodbody.
I was skeptical about this book. Another Tapas Cookbook?
Not at all.
A cookbook that has a party menu already planned out for you. Perfect for people like me, who plan to make a million things and then realize how much work it really is. The Albondigas (meatballs) in this book are to die for. They have a secret ingredient, one that I refuse to tell my husband about…. The secret: anchovies. Before you tell me that you don’t like anchovies, try this recipe!
Fields of Greens is the ultimate vegetarian cookbook. I am not a vegetarian but always looking for healthy grain recipes. I have been using recipes for this book for the last few years. When I asked blogger Dana from Dana Treat what her favorite cookbook was, she named this one.
Ready Steady Spaghetti is a kids cookbook. The unique part of this cookbook is that the recipes are not kiddie recipes. There are some simple recipes but many of them are actually recipes I use in my home for my husband and myself (the baby has no teeth yet).
Introducing your child to homemade gnocchi, pork and chive dumplings and fresh spring rolls is a great way to make sure he/she is open to different foods.
I admit that I have been using this cookbook to train myself to make quick dinners during these busy hectic days.
I even decided not to make a complicated birthday cake for my husband and chose the chocolate cake in this book. I strongly recommend this book if you are a mom and looking for ideas for cooking with kids.

And Now for the Giveaway………..
A bowl full of OXO products. Everything you need for the kitchen.
Cherry/olive pitters, a mixing bowl , spatulas, whisks and more. You all know what a difference a good spatula makes. I discovered this only in May when I got the goody bag from IFBC. Sur La Table gave away some amazing kitchen stuff including a Shun Knife.
I tossed all my cheap dollar store kitchen stuff and filled the drawers with high quality swag.
Leave a comment with the name of your favorite kitchen gadget and a little explanation. I will make sure you get this bowl of goodies. Limited to U.S.A only. Deadline is August 30th.

Written by franticfoodie

I am Keren Brown (note: Keren with 2 E's). I love living in Seattle, I think the weather here is fabulous and spend my days writing, organizing and planning food events. Read about Seattle food events, recipes or just immerse in the food obsession. Check out my other blog in the Seattle PI http://blog.seattlepi.nwsource.com/franticfoodie/

Leave a Reply

